Forever Bound Art

Animated Clock Work

In Antique Repair and Service, Clocks and Time Pieces, Collecting, Decorating with vintage and antiques, Radios, Uncategorized on April 15, 2013 at 12:31 pm

6b10

Time surrounds me everywhere I go.  Seriously, my house is filled with time pieces.  Not only is my husband the most handsome man I’ve ever met, but he’s ridiculously talented.  He can do anything, and being deemed a horologist is one of them.  You guessed it, we collect antique clocks. I don’t know whether I’ve mastered catching time in a bottle, but I sure hear it all over my house.  Admittedly, I often feel quite like that “Ding Dong” that I hear on the hour, every hour.  I’ll let my husband be the single “Dong” that comes on the half hour.

Mike had to have this General Electric Telechron Model that was listed in the GE catalog, 1941. He kept “walking the planks” so to say.  I’ll tell you what I mean by that.  That man would stalk the aisle where it was located at the antique market that we rent booth space from.  He ALWAYS wants to buy from where we sell!  Like, I would NEVER do that.  (you can’t count my dress form, vases, hats, and my Esther William coloring book)  He says “I gotta check if that clock is still there.”  When he begins to say, “if my clock is still there” then I know it will end up in the collection with the rest of the chiming heathens.  Mike falls off the pirate’s ship plank at some point, usually when Captain Laurie shrugs her shoulders. At least he doesn’t ask for a talking parrot like in one of those credit card commercials (or receive one with frequent purchase reward program).

IMG_4616

IMG_4620

It’s a gorgeous, sexy, almost mid-century clock.  Kiss, kiss, kiss.  I go to work decorating once it comes home and my husband touches it, opens the back, shines the glass, strokes the wood with a lovely hand and a tad of cleaner.  He does things that we keep secret in his workshop.  After all, Cogsworth in The Beauty in The Beast didn’t want his private parts to be exposed either!  I place it on top of another one of our acquisitions, a 1937 Stromberg Carlson.  That beast has its own story, to be written at a later date by my husband (it weighs like 250-300lbs! HOLY CRAP!) cogsworth

Maybe, I live in one BIG Disney movie.  Pirates of the Caribbean or Beauty and the Beast?  Best yet, we have to rewind our recorded TV every  hour in order to hear what just came out of Shemar Moore’s mouth!  Our little mighty 1940’s Cogsworth talks loud! We miss important case discoveries from Criminal Minds and “What did Tim Gunn just say?”   I am amused when the past interferes with the present.  Dear Lordy, Shemar Moore is very important. That must mean that Mike would rather hear from Heidi Klum rather than Tim Gunn?  Augh- the clock just chimed, sorry Mike can’t find the remote! “Make it work!”  Good thing Mike gets paid to make clocks work.

shamar mooreheidi klumtim_gunn2

  1. Yay! So glad to see you posting blogs again. Make it work… indeed! It’s a good thing Big Ben won’t fit in your house. 😉

Thank you & remember Historic Preservation IS fun!

