Forever Bound Art

Never Least, Country Living Fair Part III, The Historic Location

In Clubs and Networking, Foundations, Inspirational, Traveling & Antiques, Uncategorized on October 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

     Thank you all for waiting for blog entry three from the Country Living Fair, Columbus, Ohio.   Since our journey into the Country Living Magazine pages back in September, I have been euphoric and blessed.   I continue to find inspiration in stuff (from my previous blog entries you will know my relationship with “stuff”) and am mesmerized by all the stories I heard along the way.  My head swims when I locate a business card that I shoved in some pocket, or in the suit case that I just unpacked.  Yikes, I know, how many weeks has it been sitting on my bedroom floor filled? ( I did get the dirties out immediately, so in my mind I was done).  I could keep going on and on about how fantastic it was, can you tell that I loved the fair?  Hooray Country Living Magazine!  However, I want to tell my last story with much love about The Ohio Historical Society.  This Society truly knows what it is doing, preserving our rich American history.  If I had more money then Bill Gates I would give it to The Ohio Historical Society, and PBS.   Instead, I am a wee poor child surrounded by her antiques and cats. I actually have a grander life than that, I just thought it would paint the picture better than “extremely blessed with three children, loving parents and the most amazing husband in the world.”  I shall do what I do best, speak and honor their efforts and tell my story with rich words and much conviction.

The Fair is blissfully located at the Historical Societies Ohio Village in Columbus, Ohio.  Couldn’t be a better place to hold a fair in this re-created 19th Century Ohioan town.  There is a working garden, Town Hall, Schoolhouse, General Store (in which CL sold their fair merchandise), bank, American House Hotel, and much more.

As you can see in the photographs above,  it’s volunteer based and packed with WOW factor.  They had herbs for sale at the fair and they sure did smell amazing!  I couldn’t help but take this picture of how they hung them on the fence.  How could you not buy any?

On that volunteer note – I couldn’t have been more impressed with the amount of support the Ohio Historical has.  It seems that many societies, foundations, clubs etc. spend a large amount of time hoping for more help, more interest in what they are working for.  Here in Ohio, the amount of dedication is evident.  My heart fills with joy and pride that our country has a state like Ohio serving and protecting our history and it’s historical sites.  Take Rose Frazier, a volunteer for the society.  She and several other amazing women spend their time showing interested onlookers how lace was and still is made today.  As my family watched on (and maybe a tad bored with me), I learned how to make lace with my own hands.  I laughed, I concentrated hard, and then had the rush of realization that I too could make lace.  Thank you Mrs. Frazier, what a wonderful teacher you are.  See how volunteers can inspire?

Not only did Mrs. Rose Frazier pass on her expertise, but she willingly sent me off with information to get me started.  For me to blog about too!  The Great Lakes Lace Group has a Facebook page to be sure to look into. The other group that came highly recommended was the International Old Lacers, I.O.L.I.  All this great information AND a bit of history thrown in there too.    I send you off with some photographs that I took of the Ohio Villages stunning structures.  Job well done Country Living Magazine with choosing Ohio as one of your Fair Locations.  The Ohio Village is brilliant and much deserves the attention.  I highly recommend a trip to any of Ohio’s historical sites and landmarks.  Travel to this grand state and enjoy America at its finest.

Although my entries are considered finished for the Country Living Fair, I am sure that I will throw tidbits here and there out there in future posts.  I truly did meet amazing people that have helped guide me in my antique journey.  People and events shape who you are.  Moments can lead to inspiration and personal motivations, or let us say goals to be obtained.  My goal (Mike thinks I’m crazy mad!) is to be at the Country Living Fair, Ohio, 2013 – IN MY OWN ANTIQUE BOOTH!  Holy crap, I said it out loud.  Do you know how expensive that is Laurie Ann, do you know how much work that is!  There, I said it, I lectured myself, that part is done.  Dream and goal sent to the heavens.  Godspeed

  1. Looks like a great occasion, Laurie: and all the best as you work towards having your own antique booth there!

  2. Wow! What a wonderful endorsement of the Ohio Historical Society. We are so glad others love the Ohio Village as much as we do. The Country Living Fair is one of our favorite Village events and we are so happy to host it for so many years. Our volunteers are definitely THE BEST. Thanks and see you next year!!

    • I’d be honored to endorse the Ohio Historical Society at any given moment. I have been impressed my entire life at the pride that Ohio has in it’s state and rich history. Your historicial society is strong and proud and it shows. Congratulate your members with confidence.

  3. Thank you for your wonderful comments. We always look forward to meeting so many new people. And, we are so-o-o-o glad you enjoyed the lace making with Rose–fantastic, isn’t it? Good luck with your quest to have your own booth in the CL Fair next year! Be sure to introduce yourself to us as we stroll by so we can congratulate you.

    • You’d probably notice me, I am usually the happiest person around! Thank you for all that you do in order to share history. Our past is glued together by volunteers! Thank you!

  4. This was a fascinating post, especially the bit about making lace. It’s nice to know old traditions still exist.

  5. laurie, i have every faith in you – you will totally be at the fair in 2013. i can’t wait to see the posts that lead up to it and the triumphant posts from the fair itself!

Thank you & remember Historic Preservation IS fun!

