Forever Bound Art

Living My ‘Country Living’ Magazine, Part 1

In Collecting, Reinventing/Recycling, Traveling & Antiques, Uncategorized on September 28, 2012 at 1:37 am

Sometimes a writer will say, “I should write about this”, head bobbing up and down and the ideas flow in that witty brain of theirs.  More often than not, I feel obliged to admit, the story never gets past that moment of inspiration.  Writers want to tell the world everything in the same amount of time that moments gets sucked up by families, day jobs and housework.  Good intentions we throw to the wolves as they eat our creative words.  This time, I really want to tell you the story of inspiration.  As many of you are aware, there is a fabulous magazine out there called Country Living.  Still going strong, if not stronger since its first publication in 1978 with Hearst Corporation.  Not only do they produce a publication chuck full of fun ideas and heart warming country stories, they host three fairs across the United States on a yearly basis.   My mother for the last few years has been nudging me to go with her to the Columbus, Ohio Country Living Fair held in September.  Finally, on its fifth year of fun, I jumped on the opportunity.  All the stars were aligned and our mini van drove down from Michigan to the south central part of Ohio as the leaves began to turn and my father grumbled about shopping. In fact, his line was “Tell me again, WHY, I am going to this thing?”  I assured him that it would knock his socks off.  He didn’t buy it and shook his head.  Well my friends, the Country Living Fair 2012 DID knock all of our socks off and here is my story that will not get lost in the file cabinets in my head.  My version from my eyes and my experience, just as promised.

Years ago I would have merely flipped through a ‘country’ type magazine.  I think I was afraid of cows and plastic ducks dressed in pinafores.  I’m also not a huge primitive fan.  I feel l do need to clarify that last part because I can feel some of my readers (including my mother saying, “Now wait a minute”).  Primitive meaning gingham cotton cut by pinking shears and tied in a bow around a rusty heart.  Sigh, even as I say this I am not completely being honest with myself.  My tastes have been changing you see.  Even as I go back and read what I just wrote I hear myself fighting to admit my tastes are turning ‘country’.  “I’m a lil’ bit country.  I’m a lil’ bit rock and roll.”   Yikes, I’m even singing crappy music!  I hit my forehead like Ricky Ricardo and say “EyeYiYiYiYi”  I don’t even know how to spell that, I’m so confused.  Deep breath Laurie Ann, deep breath.  Okay, I admit I like country decorating.  There I said it.  BUT, I like it MY WAY.  Here’s where Country Living Magazine comes into the picture.  Last year I casually flipped through one of their magazines waiting for my mother (we probably were going to go garage saleing or to a thrift store) and was blown away.  It was MY WAY on every page!  No ducks, no dark pages with loads of curtains covering bountiful light.  No crowding.  Light and airy pages filled with cool antiques and restoration stories that made you cheer for the owners, not envy them.  I declared, “I love this magazine!”   My mother says, “You can have it, I hate it.”  Double take, wha wha wha?  Here I thought mom and I would have this Thing. This magazine Thing that we loved together.  What can she mean she hated it?  We were going to have a “Thing”.  Nope, she hated it because it wasn’t primitive and dark.  I tried to explain that even Colonial Williamsburg has changed with the times.  But, she still was dying to go to that fair.

Our business took off on a daily basis and the love for antiques grew stronger everyday.  My desire to preserve history and tell it’s story turned into this blog.  I have always been surrounded by all of these traits, writing, history, respect of ancestry.  It’s as if my psyche gathered up all that I have learned from family, daily observations and years of studying and turned Forever Bound Art into the birthed child that I adore today.  The closer the Country Living Fair Columbus, Ohio came the more that I needed to go.  I had to see this magazine come to life.   Now, I am aware that a company does put on a large portion of this fair, but I knew deep down that the heart of the magazine would be there steering.  I just knew I had to see the love that is put into their magazines put into an event.  There was a need to be able to walk the pages.  I have to believe that another reason laid solely on needing to see that my business was real.  All that I have been working for was understood by others AND enjoyed by others.  I wanted that writers inspiration. Maybe even some validation?   I will jump forward for a moment and just say, I was granted far more than my needs could imagine.  Hence, me writing this blog entry and taking about 75 pictures.  (I want to publish them in a book sometime! Laurie’s Vintage eye on the world. omg, I think I just named a really cool book)   What I witnessed at this fair was more than crafts and antiques (and oh that glorious food!) but friendship, kinship, encouragement, support, understanding, passion, patience, drive, inspiration, creativity, talent and down right real emotion.  If I have ever needed validation in my life, it was in over abundance.  I have never met such beautiful people in one place in my entire life.  Therefore, never feeling so fulfilled and ready to run with any thought where my mind would take me.  I was happy to be me at the Country Living Fair.  I was proud of my career choice.  Seeing was believing, and I do believe that there are many people out there that want to preserve our history and trades from the past.  We CAN sew, we CAN cook, we CAN collect, we CAN sing, we CAN dance, we CAN honor, we CAN preserve, we CAN DREAM and be supported by like minded friends.  No foes here, not for what seemed to be millions of miles away.  It was better than Christmas.

Part two will follow telling the tale of all the lovely inspirational people that gathered at the Country Living Magazine Fair 2012.  As for this moment, I will leave you with this……

http://youtu.be/_AfXznngjGw?t=12s

p.s. I did look for a Ricky Ricardo sound bite and didn’t find one, and as I calmed down I realized it does have a spelling “AY YI YI YI YI” 🙂

Thank you & remember Historic Preservation IS fun!

