Forever Bound Art

For the Love of Antiques. 1950’s School Clock

In Uncategorized on June 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

We love our 1950’s school clock.  This General Electric Telechron has been refurbished and is happily hanging in our kitchen.   When we first got it, Mike would stand in front of it admiring it for a bit longer then the average person.   He was pretty adorable standing there with his arms folded across his chest with that smile across his face.  I caught him one night when it was bedtime.   He said that he enjoyed listening to it buzz when the house was quite.  Call it sad, but we love our antiques.

  1. I realized my new place needs a statement clock. Will you help me find one? 🙂

    • Forever Bound Art will rise to the challenge! There are so many types. Sunburst metal wall clocks to School Clocks like this one pictured. I bet Mike and I can find you a real cool one that will suit your LA 60’s apartment. Very cool, very cool indeed. Thanks for the quest!

      • Sooo excited!! I was thinking like one of those sunburst 60s vintage pieces. I remember seeing a few at the Rose Bowl Flea Market (today’s post!) but it must have taken a couple weeks to really sink in. Now I want one!

        • Those aren’t that hard to find. However, some were made of plastic and there often broken. Some were made of metal, and those are often bent and paint chipped off. They are getting very popular, but that doesn’t mean that you are suppose to pay an arm and a leg for it. http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=sunburst+clocks+retro&qpvt=sunburst+clocks+retro&FORM=IGRE Here is a simple bing search link, but the photos are VERY cool. Buyer beware. Be guarenteed for the price that it works. If not you will have to tack on repair cost. Sunburst clocks are very cool looking I must admit and I am secretly looking for one too. I have come across some but I am being picky. Remember when you really want something, it will come. You don’t have to buy the first one you see if you aren’t sure of it!

Thank you & remember Historic Preservation IS fun!

